Quick Answer: The best recurring affiliate programs pay a commission every billing cycle a referred customer stays subscribed, rather than once at the point of sale. Strong options in 2026 include AWeber, ClickFunnels, AdCreative.ai, ChatBot (LiveChat) and Format, with recurring rates from 20% to 50% and durations from 12 months to lifetime. For bloggers, YouTubers and newsletter writers, these programs can build a monthly income base that grows with each new referral, provided the referred customers stay subscribed.
Summary in short
- Recurring affiliate programs pay commission on every renewal a referred customer makes, not just the first sale.
- Commission duration (lifetime vs. capped at 12 or 24 months) matters as much as the percentage rate.
- The 10 programs in this guide pay 20-50% recurring, with cookie windows of 30-120 days (one program does not disclose its cookie).
- AWeber pays 30-50% recurring for the life of the referred account, with a 90-day cookie. The higher tiers depend on how many paid accounts you refer.
- ClickFunnels pays 30% monthly recurring, with a 45-day cookie and a $100 minimum payout.
- Eight of the ten programs review affiliates manually; approval is not stated for the other two.
- Our affiliate directory lists 175 programs that pay recurring commissions (count as of September 2026).
- Cookie length, minimum payout and geographic exclusions are the first things to check before you join.
- "Lifetime" means as long as the customer stays subscribed. Always confirm the current terms on the program's official page.
What Is a Recurring Affiliate Program and How Does It Work
A recurring affiliate program pays a commission not just on the first sale but on the renewal payments a referred customer makes afterwards. When someone clicks your affiliate link and subscribes to a SaaS tool, VPN or email platform, you earn a percentage of their fee for as long as they stay subscribed, or until the program's commission window closes.
The mechanics are straightforward:
- You join a program and receive a unique tracking link.
- A visitor clicks your link and signs up for a paid subscription.
- The program records the referral and tracks the customer's ongoing payments.
- You receive a commission for each billing cycle for the defined duration.
The key variable is duration. Some programs pay for as long as the customer stays subscribed; others stop after 12 or 24 months. That cap makes a large difference to total earnings.
Recurring vs One-Time Commission: Why Duration Matters
A one-time commission pays once, however long the customer stays. A recurring commission keeps paying while the subscription continues.
Example only: assume a $50 monthly plan and a customer who stays 24 months. These numbers are made up to show the maths and do not describe any specific program.
| Commission type | Rate | Per month | Total after 24 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-time | 40% | $20 (month 1 only) | $20 |
| Recurring, 12 months | 30% | $15 | $180 (12 x $15) |
| Recurring, while subscribed | 30% | $15 | $360 (24 x $15) |
In this example, the 30% recurring commission overtakes the 40% one-time payout in month 2 ($30 cumulative vs. $20). Even a lower rate can win: a 20% recurring commission on the same plan pays $10 per month and passes a one-time 100% payout ($50) after 5 months. If the customer cancels early, the recurring total is lower, so retention matters as much as the rate.
The 10 Best Recurring Affiliate Programs That Pay Month After Month
The table below covers the 10 programs featured in this guide. Terms are taken from each program's official page and can change, so check them before you apply.
| Program | Commission | Duration | Cookie | Network | Min. payout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWeber | 30-50% | Lifetime | 90 days | In-house | $30 (US) / $50 (non-US) |
| AdCreative.ai | 30-40% | Lifetime | Not disclosed | PartnerStack | No minimum |
| BugHerd | 20% | Lifetime | 90 days | PartnerStack | Not disclosed |
| ChatBot (LiveChat) | 20-22% | Lifetime | 120 days | In-house | $50 |
| AngelVPN | Up to 100% first sale, then 35% | Lifetime | 90 days | Impact | $100 (PayPal) / $500 (bank wire) |
| Chatfuel | 30-50% | 12 months | 60 days | FirstPromoter | Not disclosed |
| Acoust | 30% | 24 months | 90 days | Rewardful | Not disclosed |
| CHEQ Essentials | 25% | 24 months | 30 days | CellXpert | $100 |
| Format | 50% | 12 months | 90 days | PartnerStack | Not disclosed |
| ClickFunnels | 30% | Lifetime | 45 days | In-house | $100 |
AWeber
AWeber is an email marketing platform. Its Advocate program pays recurring commission for the life of each referred paid account, tiered by how many new paid accounts you refer in a trailing 12-month period: 30% for 0-99, 40% for 100-499 and 50% for 500 or more. The cookie is 90 days, the program is run in-house, approval is manual and it is open worldwide. Minimum payout is $30 for US affiliates and $50 for non-US affiliates, paid via PayPal.
AdCreative.ai
AdCreative.ai is an AI generator for ad creatives, banners and social posts. Its affiliate program pays a tiered recurring revenue share for as long as the customer stays subscribed: 30% (up to $2,000 monthly revenue), 35% ($2,000-$5,000) and 40% (over $5,000). It runs on PartnerStack, has no minimum payout and reviews applications manually. The cookie length is not disclosed, so confirm it before you rely on it. Applicants are asked to share their affiliate strategy and links.
BugHerd
BugHerd is a visual website feedback and bug tracking tool. Its affiliate program pays 20% of every transaction for each referred customer for the lifetime of their subscription, with a 90-day cookie, managed through PartnerStack. Approval is manual and the program is open worldwide. Payouts adjust when a customer upgrades or downgrades, and the minimum payout is not disclosed.
ChatBot (LiveChat)
ChatBot is part of the Text (formerly LiveChat) product family, and one shared Text affiliate program covers ChatBot, LiveChat, HelpDesk and Text App. It pays 20% lifetime recurring commission, rising to 22% on new licenses after 5 paying customers. The 120-day cookie is the longest of the 10 programs in this guide. The program is run in-house, with a $50 minimum payout.
AngelVPN
AngelVPN is a consumer VPN with a hybrid structure: up to 100% commission on the first invoice, followed by 35% on renewals for the lifetime of the customer. Its commission table lists 100% for the 1-month plan, 40% for the 6-month plan and 35% for the 1-year plan. It runs on Impact, with manual approval and a 90-day cookie. Minimum payout is $100 via PayPal or $500 via bank wire; the affiliate policy and the Impact listing may describe payout details differently, so confirm before you sign up. The program is open worldwide except most African countries, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Ukraine and Russia.
Chatfuel
Chatfuel is a no-code automation platform for Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp messages and comments. Its affiliate program pays a tiered 30-50% recurring commission (Bronze 30%, Silver 35%, Gold 40%, Platinum 50%) for up to 12 months per referred customer, capped at $2,000 per customer. The cookie is 60 days, the program runs on FirstPromoter and approval is manual. Paid advertising is not allowed without written approval.
Acoust
Acoust is an AI voice generator and text-to-speech tool. The program pays 30% recurring commission for 24 months on each paying customer, with a 90-day cookie, managed through Rewardful. Referrals are accepted about 30 days after purchase, to cover refunds and failed payments, and payouts are sent via Wise. The 24-month window sits between short-capped and lifetime programs.
CHEQ Essentials
CHEQ Essentials (now branded ClickCease) blocks click fraud and invalid traffic in ad accounts. The program pays 25% recurring commission for the first 24 months, with a 30-day first-click cookie, managed through CellXpert. Minimum payout is $100 and approval is manual. The short cookie means readers need to act quickly, so it suits content about PPC and paid advertising, where buyers are already close to a decision.
Format
Format is a portfolio website builder for photographers and visual artists. The program pays 50% of every recurring payment in a referred customer's first year, with a 90-day cookie on PartnerStack. Applications are reviewed manually and the program is open worldwide. The 50% rate matches the top tiers of AWeber and Chatfuel, but it applies from the first referral and only for 12 months.
ClickFunnels
ClickFunnels is a sales funnel and website builder. Its affiliate program pays 30% monthly recurring commission on referred accounts that stay active, with a 45-day cookie, in-house tracking and a $100 minimum payout. Approval is manual. Pre-selected Qualified Affiliates who started promoting before 4 October 2022 earn 40%. The agreement forfeits commissions below $100 after 120 days.
How to Join Recurring Affiliate Programs
Step-by-step process:
- Find the program. Check the brand's website for an "Affiliates" or "Partner" page, or look on networks such as PartnerStack, Impact or FirstPromoter.
- Review the terms. Check commission rate, duration, cookie length, minimum payout, restrictions on paid ads and brand bidding, and any geographic exclusions before applying.
- Submit your application. Programs may ask about your website, audience and how you plan to promote. AdCreative.ai, for example, asks applicants to share their affiliate strategy and links.
- Wait for approval. Eight of the ten programs above review applications manually.
- Get your tracking link. Once approved, generate your link from the affiliate dashboard.
- Create content. Write reviews, tutorials, comparison posts or videos that include your link, with a clear disclosure that it is an affiliate link.
- Track performance. Monitor clicks, conversions and commission reports in the dashboard.
A network-based program (PartnerStack, Impact, FirstPromoter) gives you one dashboard style across several brands. An in-house program (AWeber, ClickFunnels, ChatBot) means dealing with the brand directly.
Best Recurring Affiliate Programs for Beginners and Content Creators
Beginners can start by looking for a program with no minimum payout (AdCreative.ai), a long cookie window (ChatBot's 120 days gives readers more time to decide) and a product they already understand well enough to explain.
For bloggers and newsletter writers, email marketing (AWeber) and portfolio building (Format) fit existing content. YouTubers covering SaaS or AI tools can demonstrate AdCreative.ai, Acoust or ChatBot on screen. Writers in the marketing space can cover ClickFunnels, Chatfuel or CHEQ Essentials in paid advertising and funnel-building content.
Common mistakes to avoid:
- Promoting too many programs at once. Start with two or three that match your audience closely.
- Ignoring cookie duration. A 30-day cookie (CHEQ Essentials) leaves less time than a 90-day or 120-day cookie.
- Overlooking geographic restrictions. AngelVPN, for example, excludes several countries. If your audience is global, check exclusion lists first.
- Ignoring advertising rules. Several programs restrict paid ads or brand-name bidding (AWeber, ClickFunnels, AngelVPN and CHEQ Essentials forbid bidding on the brand name).
- Assuming "lifetime" means forever. It means as long as the customer stays subscribed and the program keeps its terms.
How Long Do Recurring Commissions Last and What Affects Them
Recurring commissions last for the duration in the program's terms. In this guide that is 12 months (Chatfuel, Format), 24 months (Acoust, CHEQ Essentials) or for as long as the customer stays subscribed (AWeber, ClickFunnels, BugHerd, ChatBot, AngelVPN, AdCreative.ai).
Several factors affect how long you actually get paid:
- Customer churn: if a referred customer cancels, commissions stop, whatever the stated duration.
- Refunds and chargebacks: AdCreative.ai, AngelVPN, ClickFunnels and CHEQ Essentials state that commissions can be withheld, cancelled or deducted after refunds or chargebacks.
- Plan changes: BugHerd states that payouts adjust on upgrades or downgrades.
- Program changes: affiliate terms can change, so recheck them from time to time.
- Account standing: breaking a program's rules (for example self-referrals or banned ad practices) can put your commissions at risk.
Do Recurring Affiliate Programs Require a Website or Minimum Traffic
Requirements differ by program, and the records for these 10 programs do not state a minimum traffic threshold. Acoust states that no minimum sales are required. Most of the programs above still review each application manually, and some ask how you plan to promote, so a clear description of your content and audience helps.
A website is not the only route in, but it is often the easiest way to show what you will publish. Check each program's terms for what it accepts, including which traffic sources are restricted.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a recurring and a one-time affiliate commission?
A one-time commission pays a single fee on the customer's first purchase. A recurring commission pays on each renewal, monthly or annually, for a set period or for as long as the customer stays subscribed.
Which recurring affiliate programs offer the highest rates?
Among the 10 programs here, AWeber (up to 50%, but only at 500 or more new paid accounts in 12 months) and Chatfuel (up to 50% at the Platinum tier, for 12 months) reach the highest tiers. Format pays 50% for 12 months. AngelVPN pays up to 100% on the first invoice, then 35% on renewals. Total earnings depend on customer retention as much as on the rate.
Can beginners join recurring affiliate programs without an audience?
Some programs accept smaller affiliates: AdCreative.ai has no minimum payout and Acoust states no minimum sales are required. Without an audience, though, results will be limited, and applications are usually reviewed manually.
How are recurring affiliate commissions paid out?
Payout methods vary: PayPal (AWeber, AngelVPN, BugHerd, Chatfuel, CHEQ Essentials, Format), Stripe (BugHerd, Format), bank wire (AngelVPN) and Wise (Acoust). Minimum payouts in this guide range from no minimum (AdCreative.ai) to $500 (AngelVPN bank wire). Many of these programs pay monthly, but schedules differ, so check each program's terms.
What happens to my commission if a customer upgrades or downgrades?
It depends on the program. BugHerd, for example, says payouts adjust on upgrades or downgrades. Check the specific terms before assuming a plan change will raise or lower your commission.
How many recurring affiliate programs exist in 2026?
Our affiliate directory lists 175 programs that pay recurring commissions as of September 2026.
How long should an affiliate cookie be?
Longer is better for you. The programs here range from 30 days (CHEQ Essentials) to 120 days (ChatBot). ClickFunnels uses a 45-day cookie and its agreement says the most recent cookie wins, so a later click from another affiliate can replace yours. AWeber uses first-click attribution instead.
Conclusion
The best recurring affiliate programs reward retention. Instead of paying once and stopping, they add to your monthly commission as long as referred customers stay subscribed. The 10 programs covered here span lifetime structures (AWeber, ClickFunnels, BugHerd, ChatBot, AngelVPN, AdCreative.ai) and capped programs (Format at 50% for 12 months, Chatfuel at 30-50% for 12 months, Acoust and CHEQ Essentials for 24 months).
Actionable next steps:
- Pick two or three programs that match your content niche and audience location.
- Review the full terms for cookie duration, payout minimums, ad restrictions and geographic exclusions before applying.
- Create one high-intent piece of content per program (a review, tutorial or comparison) before moving to the next.
- Track your commission reports and focus on the programs where your audience converts.
- Recheck program terms regularly, because commissions and durations can change.
Earnings are never guaranteed: what you make depends on your traffic, your content, and how long referred customers stay subscribed. Confirm the current terms on each program's official page before you join. "Lifetime" means as long as the customer stays subscribed, and commissions stop if they cancel.
