Quick Answer: Affiliate marketing programs pay in four main ways: a percentage per sale, a recurring percentage of ongoing subscription revenue, a share of net subscription revenue, or a fixed amount per qualified lead. The six affiliate marketing examples in this article (AWeber, Decktopus, Databox, Pixelcut, CodePal and ClickUp) cover all four models, with their published terms and clearly labelled illustrative calculations so you can compare them before applying.
Summary in short
- Affiliate marketing works by giving publishers a unique tracking link; when a reader clicks and converts, the publisher earns a commission based on the program's payout model.
- The four commission structures covered here are per-sale, recurring, revenue share, and per-lead, and each suits a different content strategy.
- AWeber pays 30-50% recurring for the life of each referred paid account, Decktopus pays 50% per sale, and ClickUp pays up to $25 per new free workspace signup.
- Cookie duration matters: AWeber and Databox both list 90-day cookies, giving your content a longer window to earn credit after a click.
- The FTC expects you to disclose any material connection, such as a commission, clearly and next to the recommendation.
- Any income figure in this article is an illustrative calculation, not a promise or a reported result.
What Is Affiliate Marketing and How Does It Work
Affiliate marketing is a performance-based arrangement where a publisher (blogger, YouTuber, newsletter writer) promotes a product using a unique tracking link and earns a commission when a reader takes a defined action, such as buying or signing up. The merchant, the affiliate network or tracking platform, and the publisher are the three core parties. No sale, no commission.
Here is the basic flow:
- A publisher joins a program and receives a unique affiliate link.
- The publisher adds the link to content: a review post, tutorial, or email.
- A reader clicks the link; the tracking platform records the click, usually with a cookie.
- If the reader converts within the cookie window, the platform records the commission.
- The merchant pays the publisher on the program's payout schedule.
Common mistake: Treating affiliate links as banners rather than editorial recommendations. A link placed inside relevant content gives the reader a reason to click.
Affiliate Marketing Examples: The Four Commission Models Explained
These affiliate marketing examples are organized by how they pay, because the payout model shapes your income pattern. All terms below come from each program's published information; always confirm the current terms on the program's official page before you apply.
Per-Sale Commission: Decktopus
A per-sale program pays a percentage of the purchase price when a referred customer buys.
Decktopus is an AI presentation maker with delivery coaching:
- Commission: 50% per sale, on qualifying purchases by new subscribers, with no earnings cap
- Cookie: 60 days
- Network: Rewardful
- Approval: Automatic (within minutes)
- Minimum payout: not disclosed
- Region: Worldwide
The program's terms do not say whether renewals earn commission, so the example below counts one purchase only.
Illustrative example only, not real results: Assume a referred customer buys a $15/month plan and you earn 50% on that purchase. That is $7.50 per sale. If 2 customers buy in a month, you earn $15; if 10 buy, you earn $75.
Recurring Commission: AWeber and Databox
Recurring programs pay a percentage of the customer's subscription payments as long as the program's terms allow. Payments can continue for months or for the life of the account.
AWeber (email marketing platform, Advocate Program):
- Commission: 30-50% recurring for life. The rate is tiered by the number of new paid accounts referred in a trailing 12-month period: 30% for 0-99, 40% for 100-499, 50% for 500 or more
- Cookie: 90 days
- Network: In-house
- Minimum payout: $30 (US) / $50 (non-US)
- Approval: Manual
- Region: Worldwide
Databox (analytics dashboards):
- Commission: 20% recurring for 12 months, applied to each referred customer's subscription payments
- Cookie: 90 days
- Network: FirstPromoter
- Approval: Automatic (immediate)
- Minimum payout: not disclosed
- Region: Worldwide
Illustrative example only, not real results: Assume you refer 5 customers to AWeber, each on a $20/month plan, and you are on the 30% tier. That is $6 per customer per month, or $30 per month in total. If all 5 stay subscribed for 12 months, the total is $360.
Recurring Commission (Limited Term): Pixelcut
Some recurring programs cap the payment period. Pixelcut, an AI photo editor for product photos, background removal and upscaling, pays 30% recurring for 12 months on each new subscriber. Its cookie is 60 days, the network is Dub, the minimum payout is $20, approval is automatic and instant, and the program is open worldwide (18+).
Revenue Share: CodePal
A revenue share model pays a percentage of the revenue a referral generates rather than a fixed amount.
CodePal (AI coding and app-building assistant):
- Commission: 20% of net subscription revenue (the terms describe it as net eligible subscription revenue from qualifying referrals)
- Cookie: 60 days
- Network: Tolt
- Approval: Manual
- Minimum payout: not disclosed
- Region: depends on payout provider support in your country
The terms do not state whether or for how long the commission recurs, so check them before you plan around repeat payments.
Illustrative example only, not real results: Assume the net eligible subscription revenue from one referred customer is $27 in a given month. At 20%, you would earn $5.40. If 10 referred customers each produced $27 in that month, the total would be $54.
Per-Lead Commission: ClickUp
A per-lead program pays when a referred visitor completes a defined action short of a purchase, here a new free workspace signup.
ClickUp (project management platform):
- Commission: up to $25 per new free workspace signup for Starter affiliates
- Cookie: 30 days
- Network: PartnerStack
- Approval: not disclosed
- Minimum payout: not disclosed
- Region: Worldwide, but some countries are not commissionable
- The referral must be a new ClickUp user, and self-referrals are not allowed
Illustrative example only, not real results: Assume 40 new signups in a month and the maximum $25 per signup. That would be 40 x $25 = $1,000. Since $25 is the most a signup can pay, real payouts could be lower.
Affiliate Marketing Commission Rates Comparison
The table below summarizes the six programs covered above.
| Program | Model | Rate | Cookie | Network |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWeber | Recurring (lifetime) | 30-50% | 90 days | In-house |
| Databox | Recurring (12 months) | 20% | 90 days | FirstPromoter |
| Pixelcut | Recurring (12 months) | 30% | 60 days | Dub |
| Decktopus | Per sale | 50% | 60 days | Rewardful |
| CodePal | Revenue share | 20% of net | 60 days | Tolt |
| ClickUp | Per lead | Up to $25 per signup | 30 days | PartnerStack |
For a retail comparison, Amazon's own commission table lists standard rates from 0% to 10% depending on the product category, which is why percentage rates in software programs look very different.
Affiliate Marketing Examples for Niche Blogs and Content Types
Three content formats carry affiliate links well, and each fits a different stage of the buyer journey.
Comparison post: A "Tool A vs. Tool B" article targets readers who are close to a purchase decision. A comparison of two email marketing platforms, for example, could include AWeber's affiliate link in the section where AWeber wins on a specific feature.
Tutorial or how-to guide: A "how to create a presentation in five steps" post can introduce Decktopus as the recommended tool, with the affiliate link placed inside the step that requires software.
Newsletter recommendation: A weekly newsletter about productivity tools can include a short, disclosed recommendation for a tool like ClickUp or Pixelcut.
Choose the format based on your audience's intent: comparison posts for readers ready to choose, tutorials for readers solving a problem, and newsletters for an audience that already follows you.
How to Start Affiliate Marketing With No Followers
You can start without an audience by choosing programs whose approval is automatic. Pixelcut (instant), Decktopus (within minutes) and Databox (immediate) approve automatically according to their published terms. AWeber and CodePal use manual approval, so it helps to have published content ready.
The practical starting sequence:
- Pick a niche with clear buyer intent: productivity tools, email marketing, design software.
- Create one piece of content targeting a specific search query before applying to programs.
- Apply to programs with automatic approval first (Pixelcut, Databox, Decktopus).
- Add affiliate links contextually, not as banners.
- Apply to manual-approval programs (AWeber, CodePal) once you have published content to show.
A longer cookie gives slower content more time to earn credit. ClickUp's cookie is 30 days, so a reader who clicks today and signs up within that window can still be credited to you.
Is Affiliate Marketing Worth It
Affiliate marketing suits people who can publish helpful content consistently, but it is not a fast path to income, and results vary a lot.
What makes it attractive:
- Low startup cost: no product to build or inventory to hold
- Recurring programs can keep paying for the months or years their terms allow
- You can add more programs and content over time
What limits returns:
- Cookie windows are limited (30 to 90 days for the programs above)
- Traffic takes time to build, especially from search
- Program terms can change, and commissions can be reversed for refunds
Programs with longer cookies (AWeber and Databox at 90 days) and recurring commissions reward patience more than one-time payouts.
Affiliate Marketing vs. Influencer Marketing: Key Differences
Affiliate marketing and influencer marketing both involve third parties promoting products, but they pay differently. Affiliate marketing is performance-based: you earn only when a tracked conversion happens. Influencer marketing is usually paid for the content itself, often as a flat fee agreed in advance.
| Factor | Affiliate Marketing | Influencer Marketing |
|---|---|---|
| Payment trigger | Conversion (sale, lead, signup) | Usually agreed with the brand (often content delivery) |
| Income risk | Creator bears it | Brand bears more of it |
| Best for | Bloggers, SEO content, newsletters | Creators with a large reach |
Affiliate Marketing Disclosure Requirements
The US Federal Trade Commission (FTC) says an influencer's "material connection" to a brand includes a financial relationship, such as the brand paying you or giving you free or discounted products. That covers affiliate commissions, and the FTC places the responsibility for making the disclosure on you.
The FTC also says the disclosure should be placed with the endorsement message itself, and that disclosures are likely to be missed if they appear only on a profile page, at the end of a post or video, or anywhere that requires a click on "more". In practice, put your disclosure before the first affiliate link.
Example disclosures:
- "This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you."
- "Affiliate link below," placed directly above the link.
Common mistake: Burying the disclosure in a footer at the bottom of a long post.
If you publish for a Belgian or other EU audience, check the local rules as well.
How Much Money Can You Make With Affiliate Marketing
No universal average applies, and earnings depend on your traffic, niche, commission rates and content quality. Treat any specific income claim you see online with skepticism, and treat the calculations in this article as arithmetic examples only.
Factors that can move earnings higher:
- Programs with recurring commissions and longer cookies
- High-intent content such as comparison posts and tutorials
- A higher price per sale, since a percentage of a larger price is worth more
Illustrative example only, not real results: Assume a tutorial leads to 3 retained customers on a $30/month plan under a 30% recurring commission that lasts 12 months. Each customer generates $9 per month for you, so $27 per month in total, or $324 over 12 months.
Best Platforms for Affiliate Marketing Beginners
The programs in this article run on these tracking platforms:
- PartnerStack: hosts the ClickUp program.
- Rewardful: hosts the Decktopus program.
- FirstPromoter: hosts the Databox program.
- Tolt: hosts the CodePal program.
- Dub: hosts the Pixelcut program.
- In-house: AWeber runs its Advocate Program on its own system.
Choose programs by fit with your niche and audience first, and by the platform second.
Affiliate Marketing Mistakes to Avoid
The most common mistakes cost affiliates commissions or damage audience trust, and most are avoidable.
- Promoting products you have not used or researched. Readers notice when recommendations are generic.
- Ignoring cookie duration. A slow-build SEO strategy pairs better with a 90-day cookie than with a very short one.
- Missing disclosure. It damages trust and can create legal risk.
- Applying to too many programs at once. Spreading links across many programs tends to produce thin content. A few well-chosen programs with strong content are easier to do well.
- Choosing programs by commission rate alone. A 50% commission on a $5/month product earns less than a 20% commission on a $100/month product. Calculate the actual dollar amount per conversion.
- Neglecting link maintenance. Programs change terms or close, so review your links regularly.
- Breaking program rules. Several of these programs forbid bidding on their brand names in paid search and do not allow self-referrals.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a per-sale and a recurring affiliate commission?
A per-sale commission pays on a purchase. A recurring commission pays on the customer's ongoing subscription payments for the period the program allows. AWeber's Advocate Program pays 30-50% for the life of each referred paid account, and Databox pays 20% for 12 months.
Do I need a website to do affiliate marketing?
Not always. Some programs accept other channels such as newsletters or videos, but each program has its own rules, so read the terms first. A website helps you build search traffic over time.
How long does it take to get approved for an affiliate program?
It depends on the program. Pixelcut approves instantly, Decktopus within minutes and Databox immediately. AWeber and CodePal use manual approval, and ClickUp does not disclose its approval process. Having published content ready helps with manual reviews.
Can you do affiliate marketing on social media?
Often yes, but it depends on each program's terms and on the platform's rules. FTC disclosure guidance applies to social media, so mark your affiliate links clearly.
What is a cookie window and why does it matter?
A cookie window is the period after a click during which a conversion can be credited to the affiliate. With AWeber's 90-day cookie, a reader who clicks today and subscribes 60 days later can still earn you a commission. With ClickUp's 30-day cookie, the same reader would need to sign up within a month.
Is affiliate marketing passive income?
It can become less hands-on once your content ranks and converts, but reaching that point takes active work. Recurring programs can keep paying for as long as their terms allow, without extra effort per customer.
Can affiliates earn from programs that pay per signup instead of per sale?
Yes. ClickUp pays up to $25 per new free workspace signup, so you can earn without the referred person paying anything. Only new ClickUp users count, and self-referrals are not allowed.
Conclusion
The six affiliate marketing examples covered here show that the commission model matters as much as the commission rate. A 50% per-sale rate, a 20% recurring rate over 12 months and a lifetime recurring rate pay out in very different patterns, so compare them against your own content and audience.
Actionable next steps:
- Pick one commission model that fits your content: recurring for newsletter writers, per-lead for tutorial content, per-sale for review posts.
- Start with one or two programs that offer automatic approval (Pixelcut, Databox, Decktopus).
- Publish one comparison post and one tutorial before applying to manual-approval programs.
- Add a clear disclosure before the first affiliate link in every piece of content.
- Compare each program's cookie window with how long your readers usually take to decide.
Earnings are never guaranteed, and the figures in this article are illustrative examples, not results anyone has reported. Programs can change their terms at any time, so confirm the current commission, cookie, payout and eligibility terms on each program's official page before you apply.
